FSA Awards 2022 shortlists announced

From the official FSA.Org website:

The Football Supporters’ Association is pleased to announce the shortlists for the 2022 FSA Awards in association with BeGambleAware – voting is open now, and fans can back their favourites here. 92 candidates will battle it out across 16 categories, recognising everything from the best players of the past year to the best podcasts and fanzines.

The largest supporter-led awards in the country are back.

The Men’s Player of the Year category features 2017’s winner Harry Kane, up against the Manchester City pair of Erling Haaland and Kevin de Bruyne, who is shortlisted for the third time. They are joined by Brentford striker Ivan Toney, Newcastle United’s Brazilian midfielder Bruno Guimarães and Bukayo Saka from Arsenal.

The shortlist for the Women’s Player of the Year is dominated by England’s victorious Lionesses, with Arsenal’s Beth Mead and Manchester United’s Ella Toone both making the shortlist, alongside Keira Walsh. Spurs’ Ashleigh Neville, Chelsea’s Sam Kerr and West Ham United’s Kate Longhurst round out the shortlist. 

Pundit of the Year promises to be another hotly contested category, with four previous winners battling it out for honours. Sky Sports duo Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville are joined by Alex Scott and Ian Wright, with Alan Shearer and Rachel Brown-Finnis looking to pick up the award for the first time.

Our Fans for Diversity campaign, run jointly with Kick It Out, has its own award, promoting the good work of fan groups who make football more inclusive and welcoming to all communities.

We’ll also be recognising the work Supporter Liaison Officers (SLOs) do for fans across the country which often goes unnoticed, as well as awards for Supporter Engagement and the best Non-League Community schemes. 

The other categories that fans will be able to have their say on include the best commentators, podcasts, bloggers and football writers.

In all, 10 categories are open to a public vote, while six categories (Club Podcast, Fans for Diversity, Fanzine, Non-League Community , Supporter Engagement and the Supporter Liaison Officer of the year awards) will be decided by an FSA panel.

Voting is open until 31st October, with the awards being handed out at our awards ceremony, which will be held at Nobu in London on Monday 14th November, presented by Victoria Derbyshire.

Shortlisted nominees are entitled to two free tickets to attend the awards dinner, and should get in touch with us at for more details.

The full list of categories and shortlisted nominees can be found below.

Men’s Player of the Year

  • Bruno Guimarães (Newcastle United)
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  • Erling Haaland (Manchester City)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Ivan Toney (Brentford)
  • Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City)

Women’s Player of the Year

  • Ashleigh Neville (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Beth Mead (Arsenal)
  • Ella Toone (Manchester United)
  • Kate Longhurst (West Ham)
  • Keira Walsh (ex-Manchester City and Barcelona)
  • Sam Kerr (Chelsea)

Club Podcast of the Year

  • Arseblog (Arsenal)
  • Blue Moon (Manchester City)
  • Charlton Live (Charlton Athletic)
  • From the Rookery End (Watford)
  • It’s All Cobblers to Me (Northampton Town)
  • Under the Abbey Stand (Cambridge United)

Commentator of the Year

  • Conor McNamara
  • Darren Fletcher
  • John Murray
  • Peter Drury
  • Robyn Cowen
  • Vicki Sparks

Fans for Diversity Award

  • Apna England
  • Amar Cymru
  • Bangla Bantams
  • Marching Out Together
  • Rainbow Blades
  • Rainbow Toffees

Fan Media of the Year

  • Cod Almighty (Grimsby Town)
  • Roker Report (Sunderland)
  • The Anfield Wrap (Liverpool)
  • The Pinch (Sheffield United)
  • The Square Ball (Leeds United)
  • True Faith (Newcastle United)

Fanzine of the Year

  • Dogma (Brighton and Hove Albion)
  • My Only Desire (Charlton Athletic)
  • The City Gent (Bradford City)
  • Trevor Francis Tracksuits (Nottingham Forest)
  • United We Stand (Manchester United)
  • YBR! (Watford)

Newspaper of the Year

  • Daily Mirror
  • Metro
  • The Guardian
  • The i
  • The Non-League Paper
  • The Times

Non-League Community Award

  • Gateshead
  • Gosport Borough
  • Solihull Moors
  • South Shields

Online Media of the Year

  • @Crap90sFootball
  • Cycling GK
  • David Squires
  • She Kicks
  • The Athletic

Podcast of the Year

  • Comedians Playing Fantasy Premier League
  • Football Cliches
  • Football Ramble
  • Price of Football
  • The Guardian Football Weekly
  • The Totally Football Show

TV/Radio Pundit of the Year

  • Alan Shearer
  • Alex Scott
  • Gary Neville
  • Ian Wright
  • Jamie Carragher
  • Rachel Brown-Finnis

Radio Show of the Year

  • 606
  • Hawksbee and Jacobs
  • The Friday Football Social
  • The Monday Night Club
  • The Non-League Show
  • The Warm-Up

Supporter Engagement Award

  • Blackpool
  • Bristol City Women
  • Doncaster Rovers
  • Watford

Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year

  • Chris Waters (Sunderland)
  • Dean Medcalf (Doncaster Rovers)
  • Kristine Green (Grimsby Town)
  • Louise Formston and Nina Crombie (Tranmere Rovers)
  • Mark Brindle (Arsenal)
  • Simon Clarkson (Carlisle United)

Writer of the Year

  • Barney Ronay (The Guardian)
  • Henry Winter (The Times)
  • Ian King (
  • Joey D’Urso (The Athletic)
  • Matt Slater (The Athletic)
  • Suzy Wrack (The Guardian)





‘Chelsea Supporters Group’ can also be found on Twitter and Facebook

Related Images: