England trio among first 11 Blues called up for World Cup

From the official Chelsea FC website:

National team managers have started to announce their squads for the 2022 World Cup, with Mason Mount, Raheem Sterling and Conor Gallagher’s England call-ups taking the number of Chelsea players confirmed on the flight to Qatar so far to 11.

Three Lions boss Gareth Southgate revealed his squad of 26 players to take part in the upcoming World Cup today, with Mason Mount and Raheem Sterling both included, having been stalwarts of the side which reached the semi-finals of the last World Cup and the final of Euro 2020 under Southgate.

The less experienced Conor Gallagher also made the cut after performing well for Chelsea recently and will be hoping to add to his four senior international caps so far since making his debut almost exactly a year ago.

There was disappointed for their Chelsea team-mates Reece James and Ben Chilwell, though, as they lost their race to recover from the injuries they suffered recently in time to compete in Qatar this winter.

The same is true for N’Golo Kante, who will not take part for France as he continues his recovery following surgery on a hamstring injury last month, although Romelu Lukaku – who is on loan with Inter Milan this season – has been included in Belgium’s squad despite his own recent injury problems.

The Chelsea players in Southgate’s team will come up against a familiar face in Group B, as their second match is against a USA side which includes Christian Pulisic, who received his call-up after being a central figure in the Americans’ resurgence under manager Gregg Berhalter.

There will be further Blues representation in Group B as Ethan Ampadu, currently on loan in Italy with Spezia, has been named in Wales manager Rob Page’s 26-man squad.

Away from England, Brazil manager Tite was one of the first to announce his World Cup squad, with Thiago Silva included and likely to captain the side, having shared those duties with Dani Alves during qualifying.

The Chelsea defender is one of three players in the experienced Selecao squad with more than a century of caps to his name and there is a strong Premier League presence, with 12 members currently playing their club football in the English top flight.

Brazil’s second group game will be against Switzerland, who have included Denis Zakaria in their squad, fresh from his impressive scoring debut for Chelsea in the 2-1 Champions League win over Dinamo Zagreb.

Four members of that Dinamo Zagreb side join Mateo Kovacic in the Croatia squad, where the Chelsea man is part of a familiar looking midfield along with Luka Modric and Marcelo Brozovic, in a team which mixes experienced international campaigners with plenty of new faces.

Hakim Ziyech will be in Qatar with Morocco, having been called up to their squad after returning from international retirement under new manager Walid Regragui, making his first appearance in over a year in their friendly win over Chile in September.

The other Chelsea representative confirmed to be taking part in the World Cup so far is Kai Havertz, who has been selected by Germany manager Hansi Flick in his first tournament squad, following seven consecutive World Cups and European Championships for the country under Joachim Low.

The deadline for other countries to submit their World Cup squads to FIFA is Sunday 13 November.

Full 2022 FIFA World Cup squads:


Koen Casteels, Thibaut Courtois, Simon Mignolet; Toby Alderweireld, Zeno Debast, Leander Dendoncker, Wout Faes, Arthur Theate, Jan Vertonghen; Yannick Carrasco, Timothy Castagne, Kevin De Bruyne, Thorgan Hazard, Thomas Meunier, Amadou Onana, Youri Tielemans, Hans Vanaken, Axel Witsel; Michy Batshuayi, Charles De Ketelaere, Jeremy Doku, Eden Hazard, Romelu Lukaku, Dries Mertens, Lois Openda, Leandro Trossard


Alisson, Ederson, Weverton; Alex Sandro, Alex Telles, Bremer, Danilo, Dani Alves, Eder Militao, Marquinhos, Thiago Silva; Bruno Guimaraes, Casemiro, Everton Ribeiro, Fabinho, Fred, Lucas Paqueta; Antony, Gabriel Jesus, Gabriel Martinelli, Neymar, Pedro, Raphinha, Richarlison, Rodrygo, Vinicius Junior


Ivo Grbic, Ivica Ivusic, Dominik Livakovic; Borna Barisic, Martin Erlic, Josko Gvardiol, Josip Juranovic, Dejan Lovren, Borna Sosa, Josip Stanisic, Josip Sutalo, Domagoj Vida; Marcelo Brozovic, Kristijan Jakic, Mateo Kovacic, Lovro Majer, Luka Modric, Mario Pasalic, Luka Sucic, Nikola Vlasic; Ante Budimir, Andrej Kramaric, Marko Livaja, Mislav Orsic, Ivan Perisic, Bruno Petkovic


Jordan Pickford, Nick Pope, Aaron Ramsdale; Trent Alexander-Arnold, Conor Coady, Eric Dier, Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw, John Stones, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker, Ben White; Jude Bellingham, Conor Gallagher, Jordan Henderson, Mason Mount, Kalvin Phillips, Declan Rice; Phil Foden, Jack Grealish, Harry Kane, James Maddison, Marcus Rashford, Bukayo Saka, Raheem Sterling, Callum Wilson


Manuel Neuer, Marc-Andre ter Stegen, Kevin Trapp; Armel Bella-Kotchap, Matthias Ginter, Christian Gunter, Thilo Kehrer, Lukas Klostermann, David Raum, Antonio Rudiger, Nico Schlotterbeck, Niklas Sule; Karim Adeyemi, Julian Brandt, Leon Goretzka, Mario Gotze, Ilkay Gundogan, Jonas Hofmann, Joshua Kimmich, Jamal Musiala; Niclas Fullkrug, Serge Gnabry, Kai Havertz, Thomas Muller, Youssoufa Moukoko, Leroy Sane


Yassine Bounou, Munir El Kajoui, Ahmed Reda Tagnaouti; Nayef Aguerd, Yahia Attitat-Allal, Badr Benoun, Achraf Dari, Jawad El-Yamiq, Achraf Hakimi, Noussair Mazraoui, Romain Saiss; Selim Amallah, Sofyan Amrabat, Bilel El Khanouss, Yahya Jabrane, Azzedine Ounahi, Abdelhamid Sabiri; Ez Abde, Zakaria Aboukhlal, Sofiane Boufal, Ilias Chair, Walid Cheddira, Youssef En-Nesyri, Abderrazak Hamdallah, Amine Harit, Hakim Ziyech


Gregor Kobel, Philipp Kohn, Jonas Omlin, Yann Sommer; Manuel Akanji, Ery Comert, Nico Elvedi, Ricardo Rodriguez, Fabian Schar, Silvan Widmer; Michel Aebischer, Edimilson Fernandes, Fabian Frei, Remo Freuler, Ardon Jashari, Fabian Rieder, Xherdan Shaqiri, Djibil Sow, Renato Steffen, Granit Xhaka, Denis Zakaria; Breel Embolo, Christian Fassnacht, Noah Okafor, Haris Seferovic, Ruben Vargas


Ethan Horvath, Sean Johnson, Matt Turner; Cameron Carter-Vickers, Sergino Dest, Aaron Long, Shaquell Moore, Tim Ream, Antonee Robinson, Joe Scally, DeAndre Yedlin, Walker Zimmerman; Brenden Aaronson, Kellyn Acosta, Tyler Adams, Luca de la Torre, Weston McKennie, Yunus Musah, Cristian Roldan; Jesus Ferreira, Jordan Morris, Christian Pulisic, Giovanni Reyna, Josh Sargent, Tim Weah, Haji Wright


Adam Davies, Wayne Hennessey, Danny Ward; Ethan Ampadu, Ben Cabango, Ben Davies, Chris Gunter, Tom Lockyer, Connor Roberts, Joe Rodon, Chris Mepham, Neco Williams; Joe Allen, Rubin Colwill, Dylan Levitt, Joe Morrell, Aaron Ramsey, Matthew Smith, Sorba Thomas, Jonny Williams, Harry Wilson; Gareth Bale, Mark Harris, Daniel James, Brennan Johnson, Kieffer Moore





‘Chelsea Supporters Group’ can also be found on Twitter and Facebook

Related Images: